Close cookie details

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Hide notification

  Main Nav
Murder between the Lines
Cover of Murder between the Lines
Murder between the Lines
Kitty Weeks Mystery Series, Book 2
Borrow Borrow Borrow

"I really and truly could not put it down... Vatsal succeeds once again!"—Susan Elia MacNeal, New York Times-bestselling author of the Maggie Hope series

Intrepid journalist Kitty Weeks returns in the second book in this acclaimed WW1-era historical mystery series to investigate the death of a boarding school student.

When Kitty's latest assignment for the New York Sentinel Ladies' Page takes her to Westfield Hall, she expects to find an orderly establishment teaching French and dancing-but there's more going on at the school than initially meets the eye.

Tragedy strikes when a student named Elspeth is found frozen to death in Central Park. The doctor's proclaim that the girl's sleepwalking was the cause, but Kitty isn't so sure.

Determined to uncover the truth, Kitty must investigate a more chilling scenario-a murder that may involve Elspeth's scientist father and a new invention by a man named Thomas Edison.

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Rhys Bowen, Murder Between the Lines combines true historical events with a thrilling mystery.

Additional Praise for Murder between the Lines:

"Vatsal's combination of a feisty protagonist with a tumultuous, fast-changing era remains a winning formula."— Publisher's Weekly

"I really and truly could not put it down... Vatsal succeeds once again!"—Susan Elia MacNeal, New York Times-bestselling author of the Maggie Hope series

Intrepid journalist Kitty Weeks returns in the second book in this acclaimed WW1-era historical mystery series to investigate the death of a boarding school student.

When Kitty's latest assignment for the New York Sentinel Ladies' Page takes her to Westfield Hall, she expects to find an orderly establishment teaching French and dancing-but there's more going on at the school than initially meets the eye.

Tragedy strikes when a student named Elspeth is found frozen to death in Central Park. The doctor's proclaim that the girl's sleepwalking was the cause, but Kitty isn't so sure.

Determined to uncover the truth, Kitty must investigate a more chilling scenario-a murder that may involve Elspeth's scientist father and a new invention by a man named Thomas Edison.

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Rhys Bowen, Murder Between the Lines combines true historical events with a thrilling mystery.

Additional Praise for Murder between the Lines:

"Vatsal's combination of a feisty protagonist with a tumultuous, fast-changing era remains a winning formula."— Publisher's Weekly

Available formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1
Levels-
  • ATOS:
  • Lexile:
  • Interest Level:
  • Text Difficulty:

Recommended for you

About the Author-
  • Radha Vatsal grew up in Mumbai, India, and came to the United States to attend boarding school when she was sixteen. She has stayed here ever since. Her fascination with the 1910s began when she studied women filmmakers and action-film heroines of silent cinema at Duke University, where she earned her Ph.D. from the English Department. A Front Page Affair is her first novel. Radha lives with her husband and two daughters in New York City.
Reviews-
  • Publisher's Weekly

    March 27, 2017
    Vatsal’s lively second Kitty Weeks mystery (after 2016’s A Front Page Affair) finds 19-year-old Kitty still working on the New York Sentinel Ladies’ Page, the paper’s only section open to female reporters. While writing about elite girls’ school Westfield Hall in December 1915, Kitty meets star chemistry student Elspeth Bright. Late on Christmas Eve, Elspeth freezes to death in Central Park. Her lifelong somnambulism is blamed, but Kitty suspects foul play. When a schoolmate claims that Elspeth was secretly working on battery design, a crucial challenge of submarine warfare, Kitty questions Elspeth’s father, scientist Edgar Bright, with whom Elspeth argued shortly before her death. Dr. Bright’s secretive behavior and the presence of his handsome former assistant, Phillip Emerson—to whom gossip suggests Elspeth might have been attracted—at a submarine-test explosion further fuels Kitty’s suspicions. Despite several overlong detours into historical side issues, Vatsal’s combination of a feisty protagonist with a tumultuous, fast-changing era remains a winning formula. Agent: Christina Hogrebe, Jane Rotrosen Agency.

  • Booklist

    May 1, 2017
    While researching a story, Capability Kitty Weeks, a reporter for the Ladies' Page of the New York Sentinel, meets Elspeth Bright, a student studying physics and chemistry, at Westfield Hall, a well-regarded boarding school for young women. Only a short time later, Kitty is stunned to learn Elspeth has died of exposure during a sleepwalking episode while at home in New York City; then Elspeth's mother asks Kitty to talk to Elspeth's friends to determine what triggered her sleepwalking. Kitty pursues the matter, beginning to believe that Elspeth's death may be connected to her scientific studies, as President Wilson prepares the country to enter WWI. World history, science, the women's suffrage movement, and the life and times of early twentieth-century America are skillfully woven through the story of a privileged young woman finding her place in the world, while investigating a death. For readers who enjoy historical mysteries with young female reporters such as Carol McCleary's Nellie Bly and Alyssa Maxwell's Emma Cross.(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2017, American Library Association.)

  • Susan Elia MacNeal, New York Times bestselling author of the Maggie Hope series "Intrepid journalist turned amateur sleuth Capability "Kitty" Weeks is in tip-top form in her second outing. As World War I rages in Europe, New Yorker Kitty stumbles on the unexpected death of a schoolgirl-and the more she investigates, the more it looks like murder. Radha Vatsal succeeds once again in fleshing out a strong-willed, ambitious, and thoroughly delightful young heroine, who struggles against the society's restrictions on so-called career women, while solving crime-and writing news stories-with aplomb."
  • Publishers Weekly "Vatsal's combination of a feisty protagonist with a tumultuous, fast-changing era remains a winning formula."
Title Information+
  • Publisher
    Sourcebooks
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

Status bar:

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You've reached the maximum number of titles you can recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 1 titles every 30 day(s).

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

Close

Enhanced Details

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
Murder between the Lines
Murder between the Lines
Kitty Weeks Mystery Series, Book 2
Radha Vatsal
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
Clicking on the 'Buy It Now' link will cause you to leave the library download platform website. The content of the retail website is not controlled by the library. Please be aware that the website does not have the same privacy policy as the library or its service providers.
Close
Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

You will be prompted to sign into your library account on the next page.

If this is your first time selecting “Send to NOOK,” you will then be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel