Close cookie details

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Hide notification

  Main Nav
The Good Sister
Cover of The Good Sister
The Good Sister
A Novel

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"A stunningly clever thriller made doubly suspenseful by not one, but two unreliable narrators."
People

Sally Hepworth, the author of The Mother-In-Law delivers a knock-out of a novel about the lies that bind two sisters in The Good Sister.

There's only been one time that Rose couldn't stop me from doing the wrong thing and that was a mistake that will haunt me for the rest of my life.
Fern Castle works in her local library. She has dinner with her twin sister Rose three nights a week. And she avoids crowds, bright lights and loud noises as much as possible. Fern has a carefully structured life and disrupting her routine can be...dangerous.
When Rose discovers that she cannot get pregnant, Fern sees her chance to pay her sister back for everything Rose has done for her. Fern can have a baby for Rose. She just needs to find a father. Simple.
Fern's mission will shake the foundations of the life she has carefully built for herself and stir up dark secrets from the past, in this quirky, rich and shocking story of what families keep hidden.

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"A stunningly clever thriller made doubly suspenseful by not one, but two unreliable narrators."
People

Sally Hepworth, the author of The Mother-In-Law delivers a knock-out of a novel about the lies that bind two sisters in The Good Sister.

There's only been one time that Rose couldn't stop me from doing the wrong thing and that was a mistake that will haunt me for the rest of my life.
Fern Castle works in her local library. She has dinner with her twin sister Rose three nights a week. And she avoids crowds, bright lights and loud noises as much as possible. Fern has a carefully structured life and disrupting her routine can be...dangerous.
When Rose discovers that she cannot get pregnant, Fern sees her chance to pay her sister back for everything Rose has done for her. Fern can have a baby for Rose. She just needs to find a father. Simple.
Fern's mission will shake the foundations of the life she has carefully built for herself and stir up dark secrets from the past, in this quirky, rich and shocking story of what families keep hidden.

Available formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    0
  • Library copies:
    2
Levels-
  • ATOS:
  • Lexile:
  • Interest Level:
  • Text Difficulty:

Recommended for you

About the Author-
  • Sally Hepworth has lived around the world, spending extended periods in Singapore, the United Kingdom and Canada. She is the author of The Secrets of Midwives, The Things We Keep, The Mother's Promise, The Family Next Door and The Mother-in-Law. Sally now lives in Melbourne with her husband, three children, and one adorable dog.
Reviews-
  • Library Journal

    Starred review from February 1, 2021

    Fraternal twins Rose and Fern Castle share all but three things: Rose's diabetes, Fern's sensory-processing difficulties, and their memories of how their mother raised them. As long as Fern can remember, Rose has been angry with their mother, accusing her of rages and neglect that Fern doesn't recall. Rose has always taken care of Fern, steering her in the right direction when her social perceptions fail her. Fern trusts her implicitly. She knows that sisterhood is not perfect; it's "both sunshine and guts, lollipops and blood, good and bad." But when Fern meets a man who "gets" her--another person living on the margins of "normal" society--Rose moves to rescue her sister from certain disaster. How far will she go to keep Fern's devotion? When details of a long-ago death are revealed, each sister knows what she must do to survive. VERDICT Hepworth's latest (after The Mother-in-Law) is written from one sister's perspective with the other's thoughts in diary form. It's a warped tale of twisted memories and skewed perceptions that will make fans of psychological thrillers say, "Wow, I didn't see that coming."--K.L. Romo, Duncanville, TX

    Copyright 2021 Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Booklist

    February 15, 2021
    Hepworth's latest (after The Mother-in-Law, 2019) further solidifies her place among the top domestic suspense authors. Twins Fern and Rose have protected one another all their lives, including from a mother who seems to do nothing but belittle them. They've never told their childhood secret, each safeguarding the other from the consequences. Now grown, Fern struggles with sensory issues but enjoys her life as a librarian. Rose longs to have a baby but has been unable to do so. Fern sees a perfect opportunity to support Rose by becoming pregnant herself and giving Rose the baby. But secrets have a way of coming to light and exposing those who are not what they seem to be. Narration alternates between Rose's adolescent diary and Fern in the present day, successfully revealing just enough insight into each character's motivations. Fern is drawn as smart, capable, and probably on the spectrum, and she is multilayered and relatable to readers, illustrating Hepworth's talent for page-turners with depth. Give to fans of Shari Lapena, Paula Hawkins, or fellow Australians Liane Moriarty and Kelly Rimmer.

    COPYRIGHT(2021) Booklist, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Goodreads

    Praise for The Good Sister:

    One of the "April Most Anticipated"
    --CNN.com
    One of "15 Books to Check Out this April"--E!Online
    One of "The Best New Books To Read This April"--Bustle
    One of the "Most Anticipated Books of 2021"--Goodreads
    One of "The Big Mysteries and Thrillers of 2021"

  • Good Morning America on The Mother-in-Law "A deliciously entertaining novel...This one is perfect for fans of Big Little Lies."
  • Liane Moriarty, bestselling author of Big Little Lies "Sally Hepworth writes characters you love."
  • People magazine on The Mother-in-Law "Deliciously entertaining, packed with wit and suspense, and also delivers sharp insights about family dynamics and love."
  • Booklist on The Mother-in-Law, starred review "A masterful depiction of how much is said in the silences...a winner for fans of Liane Moriarty and Megan Abbott."
  • Kirkus on The Mother-in-Law "A mesmerizing domestic mystery."
  • Us Weekly on The Mother-in-Law

    "This one will keep you guessing until the very end."
Title Information+
  • Publisher
    St. Martin's Publishing Group
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

Status bar:

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You've reached the maximum number of titles you can recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 1 titles every 30 day(s).

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

Close

Enhanced Details

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

Device Compatibility Notice

The OverDrive app is required for this format on your current device.

Close

Bahrain, Egypt, Hong Kong, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
The Good Sister
The Good Sister
A Novel
Sally Hepworth
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
Clicking on the 'Buy It Now' link will cause you to leave the library download platform website. The content of the retail website is not controlled by the library. Please be aware that the website does not have the same privacy policy as the library or its service providers.
Close
Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

You will be prompted to sign into your library account on the next page.

If this is your first time selecting “Send to NOOK,” you will then be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.